Athletics

Athletics

Overview

Through the decades, California Middle School Athletic Program has provided all students equal access. As a member of the Cal Athletic program, one is guaranteed the opportunity to compete at the highest level. Furthermore, Cal Athletics authenticates the true meaning of team work, sportsmanship, and school spirit.

Cal athletic teams have had much success. Most recently, Cal sports have won city championships in volleyball, softball, basketball, and soccer.

If your child considers trying out for any sports teams, the following forms must be submitted to our Athletic Director, Joel Kunisaki: the physical form, the concussion form, and the team participation form. Once on file, one set of these forms will be sufficient for a student to participate in any or all team sports for the remainder of the academic year.

Coaches & Schedules

Overview

Sport

Season

Coach

Tryouts

Schedule

Cross Country (Co-ed)

FALL: Sept.-Oct.

Jenny Hitchings

runnerjen@surewest.net

Parent meeting 8/31. Practice starts on Sept. 3rd.

 

Girls Volleyball

FALL: Sept.-Oct.

Ted Wong

Ted-wong@scusd.edu

7th Grade July 28th & 8th Grade July 29th

2021 Volleyball Schedule 

Flag Football (Co-Ed)

FALL: Sept.-Oct.

Michael McDoniels

Michael-McDoniels@scusd.edu

FINAL MANDATORY Tryouts Wednesday, Sept. 22nd from 2:30-4pm

Games will be on Wednesdays. Schedule TBA

Cheer Squad

WINTER/SPRING: Oct.-May

TBD

September

 

Boys Basketball (7th Grade)

WINTER: Oct.-Jan.

Jeff Clark

(916) 395-5302

Monday, Oct. 4th

2021-22 7th Grade Bball Schedule

Boys Basketball (8th Grade)

WINTER: Oct.-Jan.

Tony Vaughn

Lawrence-vaughn@scusd.edu

Monday, Oct. 4th

2021-22 8th Grade Bball Schedule

Girls Basketball (7th & 8th Grade)

WINTER: Oct.-Jan.

Michael McDoniels

Michael-McDoniels@scusd.edu

October

2021-22 Girls Bball Schedule

Boys Soccer

SPRING: Feb.-May

Blue Coach: Michael Petzold

Michael-petzold@scusd.edu

Gold Coach: TBD

February

 

Girls Soccer

SPRING: Feb.-May

Blue Coach: Jennifer Dobrinski

Jennifer-dobrinski@scusd.edu

Gold Coach: Arika Griffith

Arika-griffith@scusd.edu

February

 

Track (Co-ed)

SPRING: Feb.-May

Preston Jackson

Preston-jackson@scusd.edu

 

 

Golf (Co-ed)

SPRING: Feb.-May

Tripp Goldsberry

trippgoldsberry@me.com

 

 

Girls Softball

SPRING: Feb.-May

TBD