Athletics

Athletics

Overview

Through the decades, California Middle School Athletic Program has provided all students equal access. As a member of the Cal Athletic program, one is guaranteed the opportunity to compete at the highest level. Furthermore, Cal Athletics authenticates the true meaning of team work, sportsmanship, and school spirit.

Cal athletic teams have had much success. Most recently, Cal sports have won city championships in volleyball, softball, basketball, and soccer.

If your child considers trying out for any sports teams, the following forms must be submitted to our Athletic Director, Joel Kunisaki: the physical form, the concussion form, and the team participation form. Once on file, one set of these forms will be sufficient for a student to participate in any or all team sports for the remainder of the academic year.

Coaches & Schedules

Overview

Sport

Season

Coach

Tryouts

Schedule

Cross Country (Co-ed)

FALL: Sept.-Oct.

Jenny Hitchings

runnerjen@surewest.net

TEAM IS FULL! Parent meeting 8/31. Season starts Sept. 7th.

 

Girls Volleyball

FALL: Sept.-Oct.

Ted Wong

Ted-wong@scusd.edu

7th Grade Tryouts Aug. 11th 8:30-10am

8th Grade Tryouts Aug. 12th 8:30-10am

 

Flag Football (Co-Ed)

FALL: Sept.-Oct.

Michael McDoniels

Michael-McDoniels@scusd.edu

TBA

 

Cheer Squad

WINTER/SPRING: Oct.-May

TBD

TBA

 

Boys Basketball (7th Grade)

WINTER: Oct.-Jan.

Jeff Clark

(916) 395-5302

TBA

 

Boys Basketball (8th Grade)

WINTER: Oct.-Jan.

Tony Vaughn

Lawrence-vaughn@scusd.edu

TBA

 

Girls Basketball (7th & 8th Grade)

WINTER: Oct.-Jan.

Michael McDoniels

Michael-McDoniels@scusd.edu

TBA

 

Boys Soccer

SPRING: Feb.-May

Izzy Ramirez

Israel-Ramirez@scusd.edu

TBA

 

Girls Soccer

SPRING: Feb.-May

Michael Roach

Michael-Roach@scusd.edu

TBA

 

Track (Co-ed)

SPRING: Feb.-May

Preston Jackson

Preston-jackson@scusd.edu

TBA

 

Golf (Co-ed)

SPRING: Feb.-May

Daniel Ng

Daniel-Ng@scusd.edu

TBA

 

Girls Softball

SPRING: Feb.-May

Daniel Sanchez

 supersanchez@comcast.net

Julie Arnoult

 julie-arnoult@scusd.edu

TBA